REVIEW: King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor by Andy Riley

 

 With an endorsement from David Walliams ('Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books'), this promises to be very funny and it doesn't disappoint. King Flashypants tells the story of Edwin, the nine-year old king of Edwinland - a place of plump, merry peasants and sweetshops. When Edwin's ruling neighbour the evil Emperor Nurbison, attempts to cause a rebellion in Edwinland, a bizarre and often laugh-out-loud adventure ensues. It's Andy Riley's own illustrations that really take this book to the next level - bold, striking and full of comedy details. Great for 7+ readers who loved Alex T Smith's Claude series or Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants and are looking for something more challenging.

 

Please reload

Text & photos © 2016-2018 Jennifer Bell All Rights Reserved

Illustrations © 2016-2018 Karl James Mountford All Rights Reserved